Chocolate Chip Raspberry Swirl Muffins

This year I wanted to make a special treat for the wonderful people I work with at both jobs! I’ve been making a lot of cupcakes lately and I wanted to try something a little different. I also wanted something that everyone would want to eat! So I asked my team for some inspiration and one of the guys had the genius idea of chocolate and raspberry muffins! And after a lengthy discussion of using fresh raspberries versus filling with a raspberry curd (filled muffins is now an intriguing idea to me) I decided to swirl in some fresh mashed raspberries.

Back in college at USU there was a little deli/coffee shop at the library and one of my favorite habits was stopping for a coffee to go on my way to Econ class. And if I was early enough there would be my favorite muffins left! I would either go for the almond poppy seed or……..Chocolate Chip!!! I just love biting into that vanilla muffin with a little bit of chocolate sprinkled in. This batter was so amazing that I didn’t clean out the bowl right away so I could sneak a little taste here and there while I was making dinner.

I really love the way these turned out, slightly crunchy tops and soft and fluffy inside! And the raspberry adds a wonderful little tang and a fun color!

This recipe makes about 3 dozen cupcake sized muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 Cup Butter, softened
  • 2 Cups Sugar
  • 4 eggs, room temperature
  • 1 Tbsp Pure Vanilla Extract
  • 4 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 4 Cups all purpose flour
  • 16 oz Sour Cream, at room temperature
  • 10 oz Mini Chocolate Chips, if you want to get fancy set some aside to sprinkle on top
  • 1 Cup Fresh Raspberries, macerated in 1/8 cup sugar for 30 minutes and mashed with a fork

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

In a stand mixer beat the butter until it’s smooth. Add the sugar and beat for 3-4 minutes, scraping down the bowl occasionally, until it gets to be a few shades lighter. Add vanilla and the eggs. Beat until fully mixed, scraping down the sides of the bowl. Mix in the baking powder, baking soda and salt.

Add the flour 1 cup at a time, alternating with 1/4 cup of sour cream. Mix until it’s just barely combined each time. If you over beat it then the muffins will be more dense instead of light and fluffy. Using a spatula gently fold in the chocolate chips. Pour the raspberries around the edge of the bowl, using your spatula gently swirl in the raspberries.

Line your muffin tin with cupcake liners. Using a cookie scoop fill the liners almost full. Bake for 18-20 minutes. When the top is lightly browned and a toothpick is inserted and comes out clean then they are done! Let them cool in the pan for about 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack.

Now would be a perfect time sneak a little snack! A warm freshly baked oven is as close to paradise as I’m getting any time soon! So wonderfully yummy!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Raspberry Swirl Muffins

Leave a Reply

