White Chocolate Buttercream

I’ve made this white chocolate buttercream a few times now and it is delicious and beautiful. It is also an amazing base for a whole spectrum of flavors! The first time I made it I added Andes peppermint baking chips, and it was AMAZING! Yum! One of my girlfriends said it was the best cupcake I have ever made. The next time I made it I added 1/4 tsp of Almond extract and WOW! I think next time I will add some fresh lemon juice, I bet it will be spectacular.

This frosting is light and fluffy, almost has a whipped texture. If you like your frosting super sweet you could omit the added salt, but I definitely recommend using salted butter.

I had a night home alone one night and decided to play around with different decorating techniques. I discovered that I don’t need a coupler with my Wilton 1M Large Star piping tip. I thought for sure that frosting would just ooze out the sides, but lo and behold…..it worked like a charm! I am just obsessed with decorating with rosettes! Not sure what I will move on to next….but for now I will strive to perfect this art!

This will frost about 24 cupcakes with a medium amount of frosting. For a cake more than 2 layers I would increase the recipe by 50% or double.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup Salted Butter, softened
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 6 oz White Chocolate, melted and slightly cooled
  • 2 Cups Powdered Sugar

In a medium bowl beat the butter and salt with a hand mixer until it lightens in color and becomes light and fluffy. Add 1/2 cup of the powdered sugar, mix well. Slowly beat in the melted white chocolate. Slowly add the rest of the powdered sugar and beat well for 3-4 minutes until it’s light and fluffy.

If you are adding extracts, add them with the first 1/2 cup of powdered sugar.

Leave a Reply

