Grandma’s Shortbread Cookies


For my birthday this year Levi got me a nice photography kit so I can kick my blog pictures up a notch! I’m pretty excited about this and I can’t wait to take even more beautiful food pics.

We decided to share our love of baking with family and friends this season and make amazing cookie plates! Yum! We had quite a few days off work so we really went all out. Most of the things we tried we had never made before and I think they turned out pretty well! Every crumbly and buttery bite reminds me of home on Christmas.

My Mom had given me a cast iron shortbread pan a few years ago and a copy of my grandma’s shortbread recipe. This shortbread is the cornerstone to any great cookie plate. It’s flaky, buttery and melts in your mouth. Since there are only 4 ingredients it is super simple to whip up. There are 4 things my mom would make us every year around Christmas. Shortbread, peppermint meringues, jam bars and fudge. This year we attempted 3 of those 4 and added gingerbread, french macarons, swirled sugar cookies and chocolate pudding candy cane cookies. Whew! 

It took us 2 days to make these cookie plates and I have a new found respect for people who make these every year.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb Salted Butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup Granulated Sugar
  • 1 Cup Rice Flour
  • 4 Cups All Purpose Flour

Cube the butter and add all ingredients to a large mixing bowl. Start kneading by hand. Once you have large clumps start on a clean surface and knead dough together adding a handful at a time. Knead until it’s consistent texture and starts to develop a little shine.

Cast Iron pan:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Grease your pan. Separate dough and press into your cast iron pan until you have a layer about an inch thick. I was able to get about 3 batches from my pan. Poke holes with a fork about every inch. Bake for 35 minutes. Let it cool for 10 minutes before removing from pan.

9 inch Cake Pan:

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Grease your pan. Press in dough about 1 inch thick. Poke holes with a fork about an inch apart. Bake for 1 hour. Let cool for 10 minutes before removing from pan. 

Leave a Reply

