Minty Monster Krispie Treats


Who doesn’t love a dessert with a cute monster face? This might be my favorite creepy treat I’ve made this year! Rice Krispie treats are such a classic treat for kids and adults alike! There are so many fun twists and I couldn’t help but come up with one of my own…..mint chocolate treats dipped in chocolate. They are scary good…..and would be a big hit at any Halloween party.

I just love Halloween so much. Ever since I was little I have enjoyed making my own costume or even putting it together, in fact there is only one year that I actually purchased a full on costume to be a pirate wench. This year Levi and I are going as Sheldon and Amy from Big Bang Theory. Should’ve been an easy one to put together right? Wrong!! Who knew that knee length skirts and striped cardigans would be so hard to find?!? After 4 hours of hopping from store to store I only had a button up and tights. I was about to just settle for some stuff in my closet that was close but not quite right, but I had this feeling that I should give Ross one more chance….and BOOM there it was the rest of my costume. YAY!! Let the Halloween shenanigans begin!

And let there be treats!

Ingredients:

  • 4 1/2 Tbsp Butter
  • 16 oz bag of Marshmellows
  • 3 Cups Rice Krispie cereal
  • 3 Cups Cocoa Pebbles cereal
  • 1 cup Mini Chocolate chips
  • 1 cup Andes Mint Pieces

Decorations:

  • 2 Bags Green Candy Melts
  • Candy eyes
  • Mini Reese’s peanut butter cups
  • Black icing in a tube
  • Pink spray mist

In a large pot melt the butter over medium heat. Add the marshmallow and stir till completely melted. Remove from heat. Add the cereal and stir until well combined. Mix in chocolate chips and Andes pieces.

Spray a 13 x 9 with cooking spray and press the mixture into the pan. If you want thinner ones you can also use a deep cookie sheet.

Place in the fridge and cool for 15 minutes then cut into desired size squares.

Melt candy melts in a small crockpot, pan on the stove or bowl in the microwave. Quickly dip the treats in the chocolate and lay on a sheet of wax paper sprayed with cooking spray. I used an icing spatula to make the top side as smooth as I could. Add the eyes and the Reese’s while the chocolate is still warm.

Spray on some rosy checks and pipe on a goofy grin with the icing and you are to go!

Have a Happy, Spooky and Safe Halloween everyone!

Leave a Reply

