Garden Veggie Tomato sauce

I love pasta! It is one my all time favorite foods! We used to have homemade pasta and pasta sauce all the time growing up. I remember my parents kitchen was just complete chaos when sauce making weekend was upon us. Steaming and peeling and crushing and simmering and canning. It was intense, but the James Beard recipe my Dad would use for the meaty sauce was my absolute favorite.

This year we planted our own tomato plants and some onions. I just love my adventures in gardening. My parents had tons of extra tomatoes this year so I got some of those too and some fresh garlic. We did a bunch of research for different recipes and tried a few separate batches before settling on this scrumptious recipe. Man I need more garden space so I can have at least 10 tomato plants and my own garlic bed!

  • 20 big round tomatoes, quartered
  • 5 Roma tomatoes, quartered
  • 1 medium red onion, finely diced
  • 1 medium white onion,finely diced
  • 2 green peppers, finely diced
  • 5 cloves Garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsp Sugar
  • 3 chicken bullion cubes
  • 3/4 cup parsley, chopped
  • 1/4 cup basil, chopped
  • 1 tbsp oregano
  • 3 Bay leaves
  • 2 sprigs Rosemary, removed from stem and chopped about 1 1/2 Tbsp
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 2 tbsp Balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

In a large sauce pan add the tomatoes, onions, green peppers, garlic, bullion a cubes and sugar. Over a medium heat start to cook down the tomatoes.


Once you have a watery sauce bring it to a simmer. Add the parsley, basil, oregano,  bay leaves, Rosemary,salt, pepper and red pepper flakes. Simmer for one hour stirring occasionally.


Remove from heat, remove the bay leaves and then using a handheld immersion blender, blend the sauce until it’s completely smooth. If you don’t have a handheld you can use a regular blender, I would cool down the sauce a little bit first so you don’t burn yourself.

Return sauce to medium low heat, add balsamic vinegar and Worcestershire sauce and simmer for another hour stirring occasionally. The sauce should start to thicken up. Salt and pepper to taste and once you have reached your desired consistency remove from heat.

Use some immediately or save it all for later! I used a few mason jars for the fridge and some food saver bags to store the rest.

Whenever I am making a big plate of pasta I brown up some ground Italian sausage, add the sauce and let it simmer for a few minutes, toss in the cooked pasta, add some fresh parsley and grated Parmesean cheese. Voila! Bon appetit!

One thought on “Garden Veggie Tomato sauce

Leave a Reply

