Beef Stroganoff 


Sometimes it is really fun to look through an older cookbook that is just chock full of classics and think about how people ate 30 or 40 or 60 years ago! You either had to get recipes from your mom, go buy tons of cookbooks or tear pages out of magazines. I mean only 15 years ago when I was just out of high school all I had was a little binder of recipes from my mom and a baking cookbook. And I didn’t actually make an meal that wasn’t mostly pre-made in one way or another. And man, I thought I was so slick putting together a Spagetti dinner with pre-made meatballs.

And look at me now. I wouldn’t think of buying store pasta and meatballs! And as soon as my first tomato crop comes in then I will dabble in the world of homemade pasta sauce!

But back to the post of the day. I found a recipe for Beef Stroganoff in an old James Beard recipe book and decided to update it a little and give it a shot. This dish is super easy to make and pretty quick. It’s a little tangy and very filling! It’s also pretty fun to make especially if your roommate has seen the movie Anastasia and dances around the kitchen singing “never slurp the stroganoff. I never cared for stroganoff. She said that like Romanov.” Good times.

Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2- 2 pounds Stir Fry Beef Strips
  • 6 Tbsp Butter
  • 2 Tbsp Chopped Green or Red Onions
  • 1/4 Cup Dry White Wine
  • 1 Tbsp Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1 1/2 Cup Sour Cream
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 1/4 cup Fresh Parsley, chopped
  • 2 Cups Rice, cooked with onion salt, garlic salt and basil to taste.

Melt 4 Tbsp of butter in a hot pan. Sauté the beef slices in the butter. Once the beef is lightly browned on both sides set them aside.

Lower the heat to medium and melt the rest of the butter and add the onions. Cook for 2 minutes until tender. Add the white wine and Worcestershire sauce. Mix together well and bring to a simmer. Add sour cream and mix until it’s heated through. Don’t let it boil. Remove from heat, salt and pepper to taste.

Serve on top of the rice and garnish with fresh parsley.

Leave a Reply

