Chicken Bacon Ranch Quesadilla

I am not a fan of leftovers. I have accepted them into my life as a permanent lunch staple for purely economical reasons. But it is very rare that leftovers make it into the dinner lineup. We’ve been having some lunch parties at work lately which is really cool because I love celebrating success and it’s always nice to take a break from the everyday and have a little party. Of course when you are ordering food for tons of people it’s best to err on the side of caution. So we’ve had some leftovers that have been distributed among some of the staff. I have taken home some fried chicken and some of THE BEST gravy ever.

So fried chicken in pretty high on my list of foods that I cannot deal with as leftovers, until now. As I stared at this huge bag of cold chicken I was desperate to find a way to re purpose it so that it’s appetizing. And then it came to me…….quesadillas!! I usually just use some shredded chicken, cheese, onion and salsa for my quesadillas so this leftover chicken would just fit right in! Except…….we are taking this one to the next level!! Oh yes, adding bacon and ranch makes a super awesome dinner that is guaranteed to satisfy.

One of the best things about quesadilla’s is that they are a totally blank canvas that  you can make it exactly what you want! I like mine just a little bit different than Levi and it’s no big deal, which makes life so easy. And it is so easy make dinner for just one….or two! Back in my “single” days this was one of my go to dinners at least 2 times a week because it is so easy and very little prep or clean up.

Ingredients for 1 quesadilla:

  •  1 Cup Chicken (I used leftover fried chicken and pulled it off the bones and cut into bite sizes and kept some of the skin too. But you can also use shredded or thick sliced chicken breast)
  • 1 Tbsp Ranch
  • 2 Pieces of Bacon
  • 4 oz Colby Jack cheese (I prefer to get 8 thick slices off of a brick of cheese, but you could use shredded or pre-sliced cheese.) Use more or less depending on your preference, but this amount will make it very cheesy!
  • 1 Large Tortilla
  • Butter
  • Optional: Thin onion slices, green pepper, jalapeno or whatever other veggies you may want. It’s best to slice these thin so that your quesdilla isn’t too big. I like to add them fresh but you can grill them up a bit first if you want. Just be careful about adding anything that is too juicy because you don’t want a soggy quesadilla.

Heat your griddle or pan to a medium heat. Fry up bacon, once done remove bacon and add chicken and skins and heat up and get the skin nice and crispy. Remove from heat and mix in with ranch.

img_0182img_0183

Reduce heat to low. Butter one side of tortilla, place in pan butter side down.

 

img_0184img_0185

Add 1/2 cheese, optional toppings, bacon, ranch chicken and then other 1/2 cheese. Arrange on half of the tortilla leaving a little room around the edge. Fold tortilla over so the round edges are even. Turn up heat just a little bit. Cook on each side about 2 minutes until the tortilla is evenly browned.

Serve with a side of salsa, or ranch or both!

Leave a Reply

