Mom’s Crunchy Chocolate Chip Cookies


Ok I am not sure why my recipes have been so chock full of nostalgia lately, but here is another recipe from my childhood! These are the chocolate chip cookies that I grew up craving. This is probably the reason why I prefer my cookies to be more on the crunchy side rather than soft or chewy.

I feel like when my Mom made these cookies they were way thinner and completely crumbled. Looking at the recipe it calls for margarine….yikes. I used all butter and the texture was still amazing and the flavor so good it makes you flutter your eyelashes and nod your head without even realizing it.


img_0176img_0177
Does the Family Circle magazine even still exist? I’m not sure but my mom has this old page from 1981 ripped out and photo copied. Isn’t it amazing the progression of technology and lifestyle. 35 years ago magazines, Xerox, index cards and boxes or binders were the equivalent of Pintrest. I cannot imagine trying to do what I do now back then. Now I’m on Pintrest comparing and contrasting 2-3-4 recipes and taking bits and pieces of inspiration and wisdom from them to come up with what I make for dinners and desserts.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup Butter (slightly softened)
  • 1 Cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 Cup Granulated Sugar
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 Tbsp Vanilla
  • 1 Tbsp Milk
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 3 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/2 Cup Vegetable Oil
  • 3 1/2 Cup Flour
  • 1 Cup Cornflakes
  • 1 Cup Quick Oats
  • 12 Ounces Chocolate Chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large mixing bowl or stand mixer beat the butter, brown sugar and granulated sugar together until it forms a grainy paste. Beat in the egg, vanilla,  milk, salt and baking soda until it’s well blended.

Slowly alternate adding the flour and oil until completely mixed.

With a spoon stir in the cornflakes, oats and chocolate chips.

Using a cookie scoop or a large spoon form the dough into large balls and place on an un-greased baking sheet. 3 to a row and 4 or 5 rows based on how long your sheet is.

Bake for 12-15 minutes until golden brown. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

img_0175img_0179img_0178

If you are sharing with your friends and family…be careful! There won’t be any left for you! I hope everyone loves these cookies as much as I do!img_0181-1

Leave a Reply

