Meyer Lemon White Chocolate Chip Cookies

So I found a bag of Meyer Lemons at the grocery store completely randomly. I had heard about Meyer Lemons and I didn’t really know what they were, but they were giant and beautiful so I had to buy them! I found out later that they are a cross between a lemon and some sort of bitter orange. I love the taste of these! It’s a very mild and almost sweet lemon flavor. Delicious!

This particular bag of lemons have taken me on another journey. I decided that I was going to see if I could grow a tree from the seeds. I am very into gardening at the moment, and I also love a good challenge. After extensive research on the interwebs I decided to go for it! I had some seed pods left over so I soaked them and put some seeds in there. I actually got 2 seeds to sprout! Wow! One was definitely strong and there was a root coming out the bottom of the pod so I bought a cute little pot and my little tree is doing pretty well so far! I know that it could take like 5 years to see if this tree will even bloom and get fruit. But what the hell? It’s an adventure to me!

I took these with me to an all day management meeting and the whole batch was almost gone by the end of the day! They are immediately addicting. Beware! Hahaha

*Note- if you can’t find Meyer Lemons then a large lemon will definitely work

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup White Sugar
  • 3/4 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 cup Butter, softened
  • 1 package Jello Lemon Instant Pudding Mix
  • 1 Tbsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1/4 tsp Lemon Extract
  • 2 Eggs
  • Freshly squeezed juice of one Meyer Lemon
  • Finely grated rind of one Meyer Lemon
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 2 1/2 cups Flour
  • 1 Cup White Chocolate Chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a stand mixer mix the sugars and butter until it forms a grainy paste. Add the pudding, vanilla and lemon extracts, and eggs. Mix well. Add the fresh lemon juice. Mix well until it’s smooth.

Add the baking soda, salt and flour. Mix until you have a thick cookie dough. Use a big spoon or your hands to mix in the white chocolate chips and lemon rind.

Use a cookie scoop or a small spoon to measure out cookie dough into 1 inch balls on a cookie sheet. Bake for 12-15 minutes until the cookies are slightly browned on the edges.

Happy summer everyone!

Leave a Reply

