Salsa Verde

I think that chips and salsa are in the top 3 of everyone’s favorite snacks! I love going to Mexican restaurants and just chowing down on the bottomless chips and salsa. There are so many different types of salsa to choose from! I really don’t like when there too much of a raw tomato flavor, or when you just burn your mouth off with one bite…..food shouldn’t make you cry! But there is one option that I am always glad to see on the table……salsa verde! It’s so tangy and bright and fresh. I just love it.

Since we really don’t eat out anymore (because I am just a goddess in the kitchen these days 😉 ) I am missing my favorite snack, and the new motto in my life is ” Why buy it in a bottle if you can just make it yourself?” Of course I had to try making my own

Look at that sexy green salsa!! I love this color! And the taste! And everything!! I am definitely going to try making other salsa’s as well! And if I discover anything else amazing to add to this I will definitely post an update! The cool thing about these types of recipes is that you can really just do whatever you want with it! Most recipes I looked at call for cilantro, but Levi hates it so I left that out and actually added some parsley.  Next time I am going to roast the tomatillos longer and do half cooked onions and half raw. This should add even more depth of flavor.

The super bright green color comes from the raw tomatillos so if you roast all of yours it will be that same vibrant color, the color will be more of a deep green the longer you roast them.

Also when you are dealing with the peppers please remember that the more seeds you leave in, the hotter your salsa will be. I used 3 Serrano peppers and only left the seeds from 1 and the salsa was still pretty mild.

Ingredients:

  • 6 Tomatillos  (I lightly roasted half of them)
  • 1/2 Onion (I lightly roasted half of this too)
  • 3 Cloves of  garlic (roasted)
  • 3 Serrano peppers (roasted and remove seeds if you don’t want it too hot) you can use jalapenos as well.
  • 1/2 cup Parsley or Cilantro depending on your taste
  • 2 tsp Salt
  • 2 Tbsp Lime Juice

Tomatillos come with a husk on them and they are a little sticky, remove the husk and rinse them off in warm water. Roast the tomatillos, onion, garlic and peppers in olive oil for 5-10 minutes.

Cut everthing into quarters and place it in the food processors. Add the herbs, salt and lime juice. Blend well.

  img_0076
 

Enjoy with tortilla chips or your favorite Mexican food recipe!! I will be posting a few shortly.

One thought on “Salsa Verde

Leave a Reply

