Mashed Potatoes 

So I really wanted to post some recipes for beginner cooks. I didn’t really learn how to cook as a teen and when I was an adult on my own I was constantly calling my mom to figure out how to make the simple things.

Of course these were the days long before Pintrest or internet access was a household staple for young adults. Man, what did I even do with my life before I had Myspace, Facebook, Google or even a laptop! Oh yes, I went to school and studied and actually paid attention to the TV shows I watched.

Isn’t it just so crazy how life changes? But I digress.

Here is my standard mashed potato recipe. It serves about 2.

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 medium potatoes. I really like to use Yukon Gold, but you can also use Russet (these need to be peeled).
  • 1 clove Garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup Milk
  • 2 Tbsp Butter
  • 1 Tbsp Granulated Garlic
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • If you’re getting really fancy then add 1/4 cup sour cream and 1/4 cup cream cheese.

How To:

Fill a medium saucepan at least halfway full of water. Add the minced garlic. Bring to a boil. Peel the potatoes (if desired) add the potatoes to the boiling water. Cook for 8-10 minutes. You will know the potatoes are done if you pierce them with a fork and they slide off, if they fall apart then they are maybe a little over done. But no worries! Drain the water from the pan.

In a stand mixer add the cooked potatoes, milk, butter, granulated garlic and salt and pepper (and sour cream and cream cheese if desired.)

Beat on medium until you reach your desired texture. Serve warm and enjoy!!

2 thoughts on “Mashed Potatoes 

Leave a Reply

