Grown Up Mac & Cheese with Bacon and Pesto

As a child Mac and Cheese was a staple in my diet! I was quite partial to Kraft Mac and Cheese. Even though my mom tried to broaden my horizons with home made Mac and cheese with like 3 or 4 different cheeses. I would have none of it! It was creamy golden sauce for me! I did allow add ins like hot dogs or my personal favorite was peas!!

So now as “young adults”(that’s what Levi calls us) it’s time to take the love of Mac and cheese to the next level. And what is more grown up than pesto? I love pesto…..that burst of flavor in every bite is a joy. I would even go as far as to say it’s my favorite pasta sauce! Levi was hesitant about food with pesto, but I needed it in my life. So I thought what better way to sneak it into a meal than have it with bacon and cheese?!? He loved it! Yay 🙂

 

Serves 3-4

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound Macaroni elbows, prepared according to package instructions
  • 6 slices Bacon, fully cooked, cooled and chopped or crumbled.
  • 1/4 cup Butter
  • 1/4 cup Flour
  • 1 clove Garlic, minced
  • Pinch of salt and Ground pepper
  • 2 Cups Milk
  • 1/2 cup Cheddar Cheese, shredded
  • 1/2 cup Mozzarella Cheese, shredded
  • 1/4 cup Bertolli Pesto

In a medium saucepan add the garlic and butter over low heat. Slowly melt the butter then add the flour. Increase heat to medium and whisk for about 2 minutes until it starts to thicken and bubble. Add the salt and pepper. Slowly whisk in milk. Keep whisking until it also starts to thicken and boil. Add both cheeses.

Whisk until melted. Remove from heat. Your sauce should be thick enough to coat the spoon, but still easily stirs.

Add the pesto and bacon.  Finally stir in the prepared noodles!

Stir and serve warm!!

If you do have to let it sit for a little longer than desired, just add a little more milk and stir and reheat!

The flavors in this dish just pop! I really love it….let me know what you think 🙂

Leave a Reply

