Pumpkin Ricotta Gnocchi

I was so lucky last year to be able to go to Albuquerque for Thanksgiving. My sister and her husband have been wanting to host Thanksgiving for several years. This is the first time that my parents and I have been able to make it down, and I was so glad that I did. We had a BLAST! Family time is always hilarious, we had a great dinner full of wine, laughs and these delightful gnocchi. I have a feeling that my sister has made these several times before because she just banged them out! I’m not sure if she used pumpkin or sweet potato but it was one of the best things I had tasted all year!

These are seriously one of my new favorite  dishes. I will make them for anyone that asks. They are chewy and crispy all at the same time and the flavor is buttery and herbaceous and kind of like a potato taste. It really does not taste like pumpkin at all.

The first time you make this you may want to cut out an extra hour in your prep time. I feel like these took a long time to make this first time, but now that I know what to expect it will go quicker next time. So let’s get it started!

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup Canned or Fresh Pumpkin Puree
  • 1 Cup Ricotta Cheese
  • 2 Eggs
  • 2 tsp Salt
  • 1/4 Cup Grated Parmesan Cheese
  • 4-5 Cups Cake Flour- this flour is very fine and will help make the dough light and fluffy. But you can also use all purpose flour and just make sure to sift it.
  • 1 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 2 Tbsp Fresh Minced Sage
  • 1/4 Cup Salted Butter

In a medium mixing bowl mix the pumpkin, ricotta, Parmesan, egg and salt with a spoon. Start to add in flour in 1/2 cup increments. This this the time to start mixing it with some love (by which I mean use your hands). The dough is going to be pretty sticky so keep adding flour until it’s firm enough to hold it’s own shape. I ended up using about 4 1/2 cups. Form the dough into a ball and cover with a wet towel.

Get a pot of water with the olive oil boiling. Separate the dough into 8 pieces. Sprinkle some flour onto your work surface.  Roll each of the pieces of dough out until it’s about the size of a carrot. Cut up the rolls into about 1 inch pieces. You can keep these square or roll them into balls. Take each dough ball and press 1 side with a fork. If it starts to get too sticky just keep your fork well floured.

2015/01/img_2098.jpg

 

Reduce the heat on your boiling water to medium. I boiled all mine at the same time, but I think it would be better to boil about 1/3 of the batch at a time. You will know that they are done when the gnocchi start to float.

In a medium skillet melt the butter until it starts to brown just a little. Take your boiled gnocchi and lay them in the skillet over medium heat so that they form a single layer. Let them cook undisturbed for about 90 seconds. Add 1/3 of the sage. Turn the gnocchi and cook an additional 30-45 seconds. They should be lightly browned and a little bit crispy.

2015/01/img_2099.jpg

2015/01/img_2100.jpg

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Ricotta Gnocchi

Leave a Reply

