Mom’s Butterscotch Sticky Buns

IMG_1918

 

These sticky buns are half of what Christmas breakfast means to me! I’m not quite sure when my mom added these to the breakfast spread, but they are wonderful and super easy to make!! One of the best things about this dish is that it’s best if you do the prep the night before and just turn the oven on in the morning to bake it.
A couple days ago I watched The Hundred Foot Journey. There is something in movies with chefs that really resonates with me. It’s about passion and making something amazing to share with the world. One of the themes of the movie was that food holds memories. I completely relate with this in my own life, there are certain foods for me that I can always turn too for thoughts of happy times in my life.

These buns mean Christmas and family to me. I always have a least 2 with my Scotch Egg and fruit smoothie. Then it’s time to open presents! And listen to Christmas music and just spend some quality time with my parents and my sister.  Then I keep snacking on them all day long…… I’m sure I’m not the only one since the whole dish is usually gone by the end of the day!

So if you are looking for a super easy Christmas morning dish let’s take a look!

Ingredients:

1/2 cup chopped Macadamia Nuts (or you can use peanuts or whatever you like!)

18 frozen Rhodes dinner rolls

1 package Butterscotch pudding mix

1/2 cup Brown Sugar

1 Tbsp Cinnamon

6 Tbsp Butter- melted

Directions:

The night before grease a bundt cake pan. Put the chopped nuts in first. Next place the frozen rolls on top of the nuts. Make sure that they are not on top of each other. Sprinkle the pudding mix evenly on top of the rolls, then the brown sugar and cinnamon. Last but not least pour the butter evenly over the top of the rolls.

IMG_1916

Put the buns in a cold oven overnight. This gives them time to rise. When you get up in the morning you should see the buns have risen at least to the top of the pan.  The longer you sleep in the higher they will rise 😉 but as we all know Christmas is an early morning affair. So make sure your buns have at least 6-7 hours. Take the pan out of the oven and preheat to 350. Bake for 25-30 minutes until the tops are a golden brown.

IMG_1917

Let them cool in the pan for just a few minutes before flipping them onto a serving dish and removing the pan.

I hope these Butterscotch Sticky Buns can become a good memory for you and your family just like they are for me!

Don’t miss out on any of our holidays posts and sign up for email alerts 🙂

Happy Holidays!!

2 thoughts on “Mom’s Butterscotch Sticky Buns

Leave a Reply

