Green Chile Chicken Enchiladas


I freaking love these enchiladas!!! There are sooooo many stories associated with these enchiladas. They have become a serious comfort food to me, every time I have them I get a flood of warm happy memories. It is quite possible that this is the first thing I ever adapted off of recipe I found on Pintrest, many many years ago.

I have served these at a house warming party, family vacation (twice now), for little get togethers, or just for a good weeknight dinner. These have definitely become my “Go To” crowd pleaser.

I don’t usually like a ton of sauce and I am not a fan of red enchilada sauce. That’s why these are made with a green chile enchilada sauce.

I have had this post as a draft for like a year because I always forget to take yummy pictures before I dig in!! They are that good 🙂

So without further adieu…..I present…..the recipe:

Feeds: 6

Adjust the recipe as needed.

  • 4 Chicken Breasts, shredded (Chicken prep recipe Here) Or you can shred a rotisserie chicken
  • 1 can (15 oz) Black Beans, drained
  • 1 cup Minute Rice
  • 1 cup Medium Picante Salsa
  • 1/4 cup Water
  • 8 oz Cream Cheese
  • Small Can of Diced Green Chiles (optional if you don’t like spicy food)
  • 20 oz Green Chile Enchilada Sauce
  • 6 Flour Tortillas, burrito size
  • 2 cups Colby Jack Cheese, shredded

You can serve them with several toppings on the side like: Sour cream, guacamole and green onions. I like to have tortilla chips as a side to have a little crunch. IMG_1853

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a small sauce pan bring the salsa and water to a boil. Add the rice and give it a few stirs. Remove from heat and cover. Let it sit for about 5-6 minutes until the rice has absorbed all the liquid.

In a large mixing bowl beat the cream cheese until it’s soft. Add the rice, chicken and black beans. Pour about 2/3 cup of enchilada sauce in to the mixture. Mix everything together until the sauce had coated all the chicken. Add a little more sauce if needed.

Divide the filling into 6 portions and roll each portion into a tortilla and place them in a 13×9 pan. Pour the remaining enchilada sauce over the enchiladas.

Yes I know there is only 2 in that picture. I literally have pictures from 3 different dinners in here! Bake for 25 minutes. Add cheese to the top and bake an additional 5 minutes until cheese is melted.


Let them cool for a few minutes before using a large spatula to move them to a plate.

Leave a Reply

