Quinoa Chicken Enchilada Bake

Quinoa Chicken Enchilada Bake

This is so yummy and filling and that pan will feed 5 people twice!!

So my sister, who lives in Albuquerque, was in town visiting the family. She is an avid runner and lives a very healthy and active lifestyle. She was going to be running the Top of Utah Half Marathon a few days into her visit, so I wanted to have the whole family over for dinner. I absolutely love a good family get together! My family is hilarious and there is always a good story that comes out of it! Whether it’s poking fun at each other or totally off the wall comments about sports, politics….whatever! You never know what’s going to happen! This gathering my sister was giving me grief about not liking guacamole.

“It’s healthy and delicious!” She exclaims as she loads a chip with guac. “But don’t start with this stuff. It’s not very good.”

Trying to contain myself I turn to my mom and simply say “Thanks for making the guacamole Mom!” And the whole table bursts into laughter.

We ended the meal with an empty guac bowl and my mom proudly stating “For shitty guacamole there sure isn’t any left!!” Then laughing so hard she cries!

Ahhh. Good times!

Since we were getting together before the race I wanted to make something that not only tastes great but would help fuel my sister for her race. It’s really hard to get something that is rich in carbs but not starchy or a total calorie fest.

Before she came out Becca turned me on to quinoa. Which inspired my other quinoa post for the Quinoa Chicken Mac and Cheese. I actually really LOVE this stuff! It’s a really good source of protein, dietary fiber and whole lot more!

I hate guacamole, but my family really enjoyed adding some on top of the dish. And we served it with blue corn tortilla chips and it would be great with margaritas or tequila sunrise with fresh lime!

Ingredients:

2 cups uncooked quinoa

2 cubes chicken bullion cubes

1 tsp minced garlic

Salt and pepper.

4 shredded chicken breasts. (or shred a full rotisserie chicken)

32 oz Green Enchilada Sauce

8 oz Greek Yogurt

1 can black beans (rinsed)

1/4 cup chopped green chili

1/2 onion, finely chopped

2 cups colby jack cheese shredded.

Prep:

Preheat the oven to 350.

Cook the quinoa in 2 cups water with the garlic and the chicken bullion cubes. Boil it for about 15 minutes,stirring occasionally,  until the quinoa is light and fluffy. In a large skillet add 2 tbsp olive oil and cook  the onion over medium heat until soft. Add the quinoa, beans, greek yogurt, enchilada sauce, onion and green chilis. Remove from heat.

Add in the chicken and 1/2 cup of cheese. Mix completely. Spray a 13×9 pan with cooking spray and pour in the mixture. Sprinkle the remaining cheese on top. Bake for 10-15 minutes for the cheese to get all melty!

I hope this is as great for your family as it was for mine!

Leave a Reply

