Chicken and Quinoa Mac ‘n Cheese

IMG_1655 IMG_1656

So my sister is coming to visit in a few weeks…YAY!! We wanted to have my whole family over for dinner, Becca is coming up to run a half marathon and requested a healthy carb load to help fuel her for the big race.

She sent me several pins on Pintrest with suggestions and most of them were made with quinoa. I have never even eaten quinoa before, and wasn’t even quite sure what it was. After reading up on this super food I decided that it sounds pretty amazing and I want to give it a shot. So before making a big dinner for my family I decided to give it a trial run. I also wanted to make something healthy but familiar. Something that Levi would enjoy. And who doesn’t love Mac ‘n cheese?!?!?

Lol….and I love the picture with Nala peeking up at the table, ever hopeful for a little tidbit. The dogs didn’t leave my side the whole time I was cooking. I take that as a very good sign 🙂

Ingredients:

1 cup uncooked quinoa

1 tbsp minced garlic

2 cups water with chicken bullion cube

2 shredded chicken breast. (You can either boil and shred your own or shred a rotisserie chicken)

1 1/2 cup milk

2 tbsp flour

1/4 cup Greek yogurt

1 tsp garlic powder

Dash of salt and pepper

1/4  cup picante salsa or hot sauce

1 1/2 cup monterey jack cheese, shredded

Directions:

Boil the quinoa in the water with the minced garlic and bullion cube. Everything I read said that it should boil for 20 minutes. It only took me like 11 minutes to get a nice chewy and fluffy consistency. So just make sure that you are checking it to make sure you don’t burn the bottom.

Preheat oven to 350.

In a separate pot whisk the milk and flour together. Bring it to a boil whisking continuously. Add the Greek  yogurt and wisk until completely mixed. Remove from heat. Add salt, pepper, garlic powder. Mix in salsa/hot sauce and cheese until completely melted. Mix in chicken and quinoa.

Spray non stick spray into a cooking dish. Add the mac ‘n cheese, and bake for about 5-10 minutes until bubbly.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

