Breakfast Danish

 

IMG_1583
Breakfast Danish

So I have made this tasty little dish twice now. The first time was in a cabin next to a beautiful lake with Levi, my mom and sister. And it was somewhat of a disaster. We were using some old oven and we decided to cook bacon at the same time. So the bottom layer was completely undercooked 😦 but the filling was tasty. My family was very sweet about it. So the second time around I was determined not to screw it up!

My chance came this week when we had some of my very closest and oldest friends over for breakfast for dinner and mimosas!!! We had a full on breakfast of eggs, potatoes O’Brian with cheese and bacon. The danish ended up being dessert enjoyed out on the patio on a lovely evening,

You can really use any type of fruit jam for the filling or just go straight cream cheese filling. I suggest mixing in a little sugar to the jam so that your danish isn’t too tart.

I made my own raspberry filling by boiling a cup of fresh raspberries with 1/2 cup brandy and 1/2 cup triple sec and about 3/4 cup sugar. Boil for about 15 minutes and let it cool.

Ingredients:

2 packages of crescent rolls

16 oz cream cheese

1 egg and 2 egg whites

1 cup sugar

1 cup of any flavor fruit jam.(Last time I used Razzleberry and this time I made the raspberry sauce and orange marmalade)

1 tbsp Vanilla

Glaze; 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 2 tbsp milk and 1 tbsp vanilla.

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350. Lay 1 package of the crescent rolls on the bottom of a 9 x 11 greased pan. Pinch the edges of the rolls together so they don’t separate. I put this layer in the oven for about 5 minutes to prevent the unfortunate undercooked situation again.

Beat the cream cheese with the sugar, the egg and 1 egg white and vanilla. Pour your rows of filling over the bottom layer. Good luck getting the top layer of crescent rolls on in a way that is pleasing to the eye. (I made Levi do it this time 😉 Brush 1 egg white on the top of the rolls. Then pop them in the oven for 30 minutes until golden brown. Let cool. Mix up the glaze and drizzle on top.

So yummy, I hope you love it!

 

Leave a Reply

